Scroll to Top

5 Books to Read if You Love Romantic Comedies

By / Published on Sunday, 14 Feb 2016 12:32 PM / No Comments / 210 views

ROMCOMHED

It’s common to have a romantic comedy that you love to watch again and again and again—here are 65 that I keep going back to—and often, it’s something in the story that appeals to our hearts, whether it’s the allure of finding love with your best friend or the too-true feeling of watching someone hit rock bottom before getting his or her shit together. So we asked our friends at Amazon books to recommend some reading picks based on five classic rom coms. Add these to your must-read list!

11-when-harry-met-sally

If you love When Harry Met Sally: Who doesn’t love the storyline of best friend turned soul mate? “Try I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne. In it, former football player Jackson Burke tries to revive his close friendship with his now ex-wife’s sister, Mollie, only to realize that there’s a lot more going on between them than friendship. Beware: This book includes some sizzling lovemaking that Meg Ryan must have been channeling during her famous fake-orgasm scene.”

If you love My Best Friend’s Wedding: “I often wonder what happened to Julianne Potter (Julia Roberts) after the film ended. I like to imagine that she’d end up like Jenna McArthur in Tawna Fenske’s About That Fling: wiser about herself, but not so wise that she always makes good decisions—and therefore lands in some hilarious situations.

If you love Bridget Jones’s Diary: “You’re probably already aware that this movie is based on a book inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Maya Rodale’s Lady Bridget’s Diary is set in a similar time as P&P but has a more modern flavor and joyfully riffs off of Bridget Jones’s diary entries. If you don’t want to go so romance-y, try Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.”

If you love Bridesmaids: “If you like tales of women who have to hit rock bottom before they see the light, The Breakup Doctor by Phoebe Fox is a great book option. Therapist Brook Ogden is a genius when it comes to helping people push past the crazy stage and mend their broken hearts, but when Brook suffers her own heartbreak, will she take her own advice? (Answer: no, which is why this book is so funny.)

If you love Trainwreck:Trainwreck makes me think of Julie James’s romance Suddenly One Summer: Divorce lawyer Victoria enjoys dating but doesn’t trust in the institution of marriage—and she has absolutely no desire to settle down. Her handsome new neighbor Ford possesses the same philosophy. Of course, this is the perfect setup for two people to fall hard for each other. Witness them fight the attraction, and enjoy.”

Photos: Alamy

Source link

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *